More rings, but a different logo

15 Oct

 

 

 

 

When I logged on to write my post, I knew that I wanted to write about the Olympic rings.  But I found it especially fitting that Kelsey below me had given me the perfect lead in with her Audi ring post.

The rings are a universally recognizable symbol for the Olympics.  The logo was created in 1912 by  Baron Pierre de Coubertin, the founder of the modern Olympic Games.

The rings are supposed to be represent unity through the interlocking of the rings.  And the choice of 5 rings is to represent the 5 continents that compete in the Olympics (North and South America are combined into one and Antarctica is excluded).

The colors are also not chosen randomly either.  the six colors (including the white background) combined represent those of all nations who compete.  This is because every country that competes has at least one of these colors in their nation’s flag.

The results of a survey carried out in six countries (Australia, Germany, India, Japan, Great Britain and the USA) in 1995 showed that 92% of those questioned correctly identified the Olympic rings, which made them the most-recognized symbol.

One Response to “More rings, but a different logo”

  1. agraphicworld October 20, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    Nice work, it is concise and interesting.

    -Bridget Streeter

Leave a comment