Type and ESPN Team Up

5 Dec

Blog Post #11

I really like the typeface that ESPN choose to use for this cover. Obviously, the typeface absolutely dominates this design, so whatever typeface that chose was going to be critical towards the designs success. I am a big fan of sans serif types, so right off the bat, this typeface appeals to me. However, why I like this goes much deeper than simply the typefaces’ class. I really like how thick the typeface is. It just has a solid appearance. I also like how the size and kerning of the typeface is varied all over the page. It creates an aweing effect. Overall, between the choice of the typeface, color, and size, I think this is a succesful design.

Leave a Reply

