Channeling Type

13 Nov

While the initial photo of this spread is a little smaller than I had wanted for this post, I still feel it is effectively represented. I feel like the main type component of this spread is the contrast between the serif and the sans-serif typefaces.

I was instantly drawn to the way that the title is in a medium and all caps sans-serif font. I think that against the script that is in the sub heading, it really adds a very interesting touch that draws the reader into the spread. I also feel as if the script is a really unique choice for the sub heading because it effectively complements the caps title of the article.

In contrast with the heading and sub heading, I feel like the serif font used for the body text really provides not only a great contrast, but a more elegant  and feminine touch to the overall feel of the article. I think that this is really effective and connects well to the picture on the right side of the spread. Overall, I think that the contrast between serif and sans-serif typefaces is difficult to achieve, but is effectively achieved within this spread.

One Response to “Channeling Type”

  1. A Graphic World II November 16, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    Nice work, but I would watch your use of I think and I like too much. You can get your opinion across without using those phrases and instead just stating what you think.

    -Bridget Streeter

Leave a Reply

